Felt Flower Gift Topper

It is time to kick off my new blog, Life’s a Craft Project! I am so excited to have a place to share my passion for crafts and creativity.

Let’s get right to it…


I have found a benefit to spending countless hours on Pinterest, it inspires you to get your creative on! I found this felt on sale at Michael’s and thought it would help me get going on my first craft tutorial.

This post was completely inspired by a post from Stacie @ http://befickle.blogspot.com 

She created these flowers for a Mother’s Day brooch. Her tutorial is awesome and you should really check out her blog, so many great crafty ideas.

Over the next few weeks I am challenging myself to try a bunch of flower tutorials and will document my efforts/disasters here! Stay tuned…

OK, let’s get started. You will need:

  • one piece of felt
  • a sharp pair of scissors
  • a black pen to trace the circles on the felt
  • a cup, empty container or card cut into about a 4.5 cm circle (or 3 inches)
  • glue gun and glue sticks
  • a pretty button to finish it off! (Sorry the button didn’t make it into the picture, I am still learning!)
I used an empty apple sauce container and traced 6 circles onto the felt for the petals.

I flipped over the container and traced around the bottom to get the base for my felt flower. The circle is just slightly smaller that the petals, but don’t sweat it, the base could just be the same size as the petals.

Time to get cutting…

This is what I ended up with:

The next step is to fold the circle in half…

Then fold one corner of your petal over by about a third.

And then fold the other side of your petal over to make an S shape. Use your glue gun at the tip of the petal and put a few glue dots from your glue gun in the folds to hold the petal together.

Next, glue each petal to the base making sure to place them right next to each other.

After you glue all of the petals to the base, fluff up the petals a bit to get something that looks like this:


Now you can pick out a pretty button to glue in the middle and you are done! Easy peasy right? And cute too

You could follow Stacie’s tutorial and turn this into a brooch, or glue on a hair clip or follow me and make a present topper.

Isn’t this so much better than a ribbon? 10 minutes, about .50 cents and there you go. Let me know what you think…happy crafting!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment