DIY Valentine’s Cards using Collage

My newest art obsession, collage, has inspired a few more Valentine’s Day cards. Don’t you just love how a pile of scrap magazines can be transformed into a pile of color and form? It really blows me away…check out my past post about collage: Inspired By Collage

OK, let’s get going! Gather your supplies, they are simple, simple, simple!

Rip out a bunch of colourful magazine pages, grab a pair of scissors, card stock, a glue stick and some blank cards (I used water-color cards as I like the texture of the paper – but any card will do).

Next, rip pieces of the magazine and start gluing down to a piece of card stock. Check it out:

Now do more, it really doesn’t take very long!

I went to the recycle bin and grabbed an old cracker box to cut out some templates of hearts to trace onto the collage so each heart would be the same size. You can skip this step if you want a more free-form look…I love free thinkers!

Trace your template and cut out.

And that is what I did. I used my glue stick to attach it to the card and then cut out a few plain colored  hearts and added them. 

I folded the small hearts in half to give them more of a dimensional look then grabbed a black pen and doodled some antennae on. Anything works. Here are a few more examples:

Now that was fun! Time to go and make a few more…

Let me know what you think, comments really make my day!

This post is linked to Today’s Creative Blog link party, check it out!

5 Comments

Filed under Valentine's Projects

5 responses to “DIY Valentine’s Cards using Collage

  1. Very pretty! Looks so effective!

    Thank you for sharing on Kids Get Crafty!

    Maggy

  2. Sinta Jimenez

    definitely trying this love the “new paper” you come up with using scraps

  3. Pingback: 14 Valentine's Day Crafts - Formula Mom | Texas Blogger

  4. Lulu

    Love the effect, so Cool!

    Aunty Lulu

Leave a Reply

