Sketchbook exercise…

Get a sketchbook, it just might change your life…seriously.

I know mine did.

I love creating, dabbling, sketching and trying out new ideas but when I am in the ‘creating’ phase nothing will stop the flow quicker than an expensive piece of paper or canvas. I need a place where I can make mistakes and try new things. A sketchbook gives me permission to fail, to make a mistake, to experiment without fear. OK, at least with less fear…

Here are a few of my latest dabbles…

I love trying a zentangle or two to warm up a blank page. The one above is from JJ, she has a flickr page with step-by-step instructions on how to get started.

I recently stumbled upon an amazing artist, Julie Fei-Fan Balzer. She created the above project as an art journal page. I wanted to try it out for myself before I teach it to my students.

Spring flowers and a micron pen…nothing can be easier than that. I drew this while my kids were busy playing in the backyard. The birds were chirping, the breeze was blowing and the sun was shining.

Here is another take on flowers:

10 minutes a day in your sketchbook will warm you up, help you work through your fears and distill a few ideas. Give it a try…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sketchbook exercise…

  1. Dena

    Whoot whoot! You are a shining example of “stepping into your fear.” Thanks for sharing your pages.

Leave a Reply

