Ahhh…summer crafts!

Ahhh…the lazy days of summer. The cicadas are singing, the sprinklers are running and the sun is shining. We just returned from a wonderful early summer vacation and the girls and I had some time this afternoon to root through the craft cupboard and rediscover the joy of a button box. My mother had one when I was little and I remember hours spent sorting, examining and just the tactile sense of picking up a handful of shiny buttons.

I am a bit obsessed. I have been known to do a happy dance when finding a bag of new buttons…seriously – ask my kids!

I wanted a cheerful necklace to go with a plain t-shirt I was wearing so why not use buttons? Here are a few we came up with:

I had some stretchy elastic and added a few beads. Pretty simple with a bit of pop? At least that is what we were hoping for.

Next up was a card with a stitched button. I have seen them all over Pinterest and wanted to try out one for myself. Here is what I used:

I want to make a bunch now! Super easy and the kids are all over it. Ahhh…summer!

Stay tuned for more creative crafts to honour the summer. Happy creating.

6 Comments

Filed under Art for Kids

6 responses to “Ahhh…summer crafts!

  1. HJ

    Cute. Great idea for all those buttons. I love the flower too. Since I can’t draw, I can use a stamp in black or slate and put a colorful button in the center for “pop”. Thanks for the ideas.

Leave a Reply

